Traces of yesterday left on my collar
The fragrance of an angel
Remains as a reminder of the time we met
Each second incandescent
As the glow of your face bounced off of your wings
And the music you made with your lips replays in my mind
As I meditate on your soul’s notation.
Each placement of your phrases creates the perfect pace for the rhythm of our conversation
The spaces allow for gazes into each other’s eyes before we resume our run up and down the scales of major and minor issues.
From healthcare and Obama to favorite colors, books, and songs
Our psalms get Grammy nominations
DJs would put our love on mixtapes
And we would get played on every station
I’m amazed when you smile
Why wasn’t I notified when you were made?
You take breath from my lungs that my God must replace.
As I make plans for our child, wedding day, and white lace
And make you my bride.
Rice and cake.
But let me slow down.
I’m ahead of myself
It’s only been a day.
Wait, what was your name?